Document Type

Marquette Only



Format of Original

6 p.

Publication Date



New York Society of CPAs

Source Publication

The CPA Journal

Source ISSN



The Elijah Watt Sells Award, one of the most prestigious professional awards in the US, honors top performers on the Uniform CPA Examination. This article provides statistics by state and by gender of past award winners, from the first CPA exam in 1923 through the most recent available exam results for 2012. In addition, it presents a profile of the top performers based on the results of a survey administered by the authors to recent Sells Award winners. Specifically, the survey examined the recipient's educational level, the amount and type of preparation, and the impact of the award on the winner's career. It is hoped that future candidates and state boards of accountancy will find this information useful and that this discussion will further promote the award's prestige. This discussion focused on winners of the Elijah Watt Sells Award for outstanding performance on the CPA exam, providing data by state and by gender for the period from 1924 through 2012.


Published version. The CPA Journal, Vol. 84, No. 8 (August 2014): 52-57. Publisher Link. © 2014 New York Society of CPAs. Used with permission.

Included in

Accounting Commons