Date of Award

Fall 1978

Document Type

Dissertation - Restricted

Degree Name

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)



First Advisor

Noreberg, Robert

Second Advisor

Stipe, Claude

Third Advisor

Bukholdt, David


The focus of this study is upon the evolution of vocational and technical education at the primary and secondary levels in Eastern Nigeria from 1900 to the 1970's. The areas known as Eastern Nigeria existed formally as a distinct administrative and then political unit only between 1939 and 1967 under the name of the Eastern Region. The region was composed of several provinces that had from 1900 to 1939 formed part of Southern Nigeria along with the various provinces of the West. In 1967 the military regime divided the Eastern Region into three states as part of a national territorial reorganization that created twelve states out of the three large regions (Eastern, Western and Northern). The three Eastern States, which followed old provincial lines, were called the East Central State (Capital at Enugu); the South-Eastern State (Capital at Calabar) ; and · the Rivers State (Capital at Port Harcourt). The East Central state contained two-thirds to three-quarters of the population of the former Eastern Region and had a largely Ibo population. The South-Eastern States most numerous people were the Ibibio and the Rivers State the Ijaw. In 1976 another military regime further divided the most populous states in order to give Nigeria nineteen states. Tlius the East Central State was divided into Anambra-State (Capital at Enugu) and the Imo State ( Capital at owerri). The South-Eastern state was renamed the Cross River State reflecting the use of the names of Rivers (Cross River, Anambra River, Imo River) and "Rivers" from the various mouths of the Niger River to designate the four Eastern States. Between the period 1967 to 1976, the study draws more from the populous East Central State, from which most documentation is also available.



Restricted Access Item

Having trouble?