Timothy Tharp, Marquette UniversityFollow
M. Ahmadi, University of LiverpoolFollow
P. Nolan, University of Liverpool
P. Pusa, University of Liverpool
B. X. R. Alves, Aarhus UniversityFollow
T. Friesen, Aarhus UniversityFollow
C. O. Rasmussen, Aarhus UniversityFollow
G. Stutter, Aarhus University
C. J. Baker, Swansea UniversityFollow
M. Charlton, Swansea UniversityFollow
S. Eriksson, Swansea UniversityFollow
C. A. Isaac, Swansea UniversityFollow
S. A. Jones, Swansea UniversityFollow
N. Madsen, Swansea University
D. Maxwell, Swansea University
M. Sameed, Swansea UniversityFollow
D. P. van der Werf, Swansea University, IRFUFollow
W. Bertsche, University of Manchester, Cockcroft InstituteFollow
M. A. Johnson, Swansea University, University of ManchesterFollow
E. Butler, CERN
A. Capra, TRIUMF
R. Collister, TRIUMFFollow
M. C. Fujiwara, TRIUMFFollow
L. Kurchaninov, TRIUMF
J. T. K. McKenna, TRIUMFFollow
J. M. Michan, TRIUMFFollow
K. Olchanski, TRIUMF
A. Olin, TRIUMF, University of VictoriaFollow
C. Carruth, University of California - Berkeley
J. Fajans, University of California - Berkeley
J. S. Wurtele, University of California - BerkeleyFollow
C. L. Cesar, Universidade Federal do Rio de JaneiroFollow
R. L. Sacramento, Universidade Federal do Rio de JaneiroFollow
D. M. Silveira, Universidade Federal do Rio de JaneiroFollow
S. Cohen, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
A. Evans, University of Calgary
C. So, University of Calgary
R. I. Thompson, University of CalgaryFollow
N. Evetts, University of British ColumbiaFollow
W. N. Hardy, University of British ColumbiaFollow
T. Momose, University of British ColumbiaFollow
A. Gutierrez, University College London
M. E. Hayden, Simon Fraser UniversityFollow
J. J. Munich, Simon Fraser UniversityFollow
A. Ishida, University of Tokyo
S. Jonsell, Stockholm University
M. Mathers, York University
S. Menary, York University
J. E. Thompson, York University
J.M. Michan, Federale de LausanneFollow
F. Robicheaux, Purdue University
E. Sarid, Soreq NRCFollow
S. Stracha, Universita di Pisa and Sezione INFN di Pisa

Document Type




Publication Date



Nature Publishing Group (Macmillan Publishers Limited)

Source Publication

Nature Communications

Source ISSN



Antihydrogen, a positron bound to an antiproton, is the simplest anti-atom. Its structure and properties are expected to mirror those of the hydrogen atom. Prospects for precision comparisons of the two, as tests of fundamental symmetries, are driving a vibrant programme of research. In this regard, a limiting factor in most experiments is the availability of large numbers of cold ground state antihydrogen atoms. Here, we describe how an improved synthesis process results in a maximum rate of 10.5 ± 0.6 atoms trapped and detected per cycle, corresponding to more than an order of magnitude improvement over previous work. Additionally, we demonstrate how detailed control of electron, positron and antiproton plasmas enables repeated formation and trapping of antihydrogen atoms, with the simultaneous retention of atoms produced in previous cycles. We report a record of 54 detected annihilation events from a single release of the trapped anti-atoms accumulated from five consecutive cycles.


Published version. Nature Communications, Vol. 8, No. 681 (Sept. 25, 2017). DOI. © 2017 Nature Publishing Group (Macmillan Publishers Limited). Used with permission.

This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, which permits use, sharing, adaptation, distribution and reproduction in any medium or format, as long as you give appropriate credit to the original author(s) and the source, provide a link to the Creative Commons license, and indicate if changes were made. The images or other third party material in this article are included in the article’s Creative Commons license, unless indicated otherwise in a credit line to the material. If material is not included in the article’s Creative Commons license and your intended use is not permitted by statutory regulation or exceeds the permitted use, you will need to obtain permission directly from the copyright holder. To view a copy of this license, visit

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Included in

Physics Commons